The Dog, The Arrow and the Song

To me the arrow is the dog and the song the friendship.

Many times you lose track of a friend, but all it takes is a reunion to reforge that friendship. Especially with a dog.

I used to be a puppy raiser for potential service/seeing eye dogs. The usual protocol is to take a puppy and raise for about a year. After that time the dog is returned to be extensively trained for their eventual job. After they graduate, you never get to see them again.

For most part, fostering dogs has led me to the same experience.

Except once with a pup I raised. I had a chance to meet him a few years after graduation. He had retired due to injury. As we greeted each other he became progressively more excited and began to howl and bark, leaning and jumping into me as he had all those years ago when he was a pup. For me, the years melted away in a flurry of fur and tongue…for a moment I had the pup that I had known all those years ago. I found again in the heart of a friend.

So to all those who are brave and kind enough to foster and care for dogs so they can go happy into their future.

The Arrow and the Song

I shot an arrow into the air,
It fell to earth, I knew not where;
For, so swiftly it flew, the sight
Could not follow it in its flight.

I breathed a song into the air,
It fell to earth, I knew not where;
For who has sight so keen and strong,
That it can follow the flight of song?

Long, long afterward, in an oak
I found the arrow, still unbroke;
And the song, from beginning to end,
I found again in the heart of a friend.

Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

 

RELATED

Busting a Rhyme for Evolution

3 thoughts on “The Dog, The Arrow and the Song

  1. I remember that poem. Thanks for the memory and the association with dogs. I do not know how you raise service dogs. I looked into doing that and then thought I could never give them up after their devotion to me and mine to them. Same with rescue dogs. Dogs are like best friends and they stay with you to the end if you are lucky. I lost my Akita and Samoyed, the Akita from old age and the Sammy from a brain tumor, and I have been having difficulty ever getting another dog. Not sure why either, as I had dogs before them. So raising them to move on to new homes would be difficult for me.

  2. My mother used to foster rescued Greyhounds. It was such a special thing to watch them transform from meek, scared dogs to loving, able companions. What a sweet story and a lovely poem.

  3. Pingback: Busting a Rhyme for Evolution | Science of Dogs

Comments are closed.